Fashion

Preen, Emilia Wickstead & Mulberry

Today I had the incredible experience of shadowing fashion editor Lisa Armstrong as she worked her way around London’s shows and exhibitions. We started the day at Preen’s SS14 show at the Natural History Museum and following a delicious flat white from ‘Look mum no hands’ coffee entered the show space. I expected to be hidden behind heel wearing fashion giants and was surprised to be on the secon row behind queen of style and princess of mean, Olivia Palermo. Other noteworthy names included personal idol Alexandra Shulman because those who know me know I love me anything to do with Vogue.
Crisp whites and multi coloured chevrons were seen in silks and jacquards whilst garments were fitted with straps fastened with metal buckles. The slip dress silhouette and backless trend continued which I expect to see more of in shows to come.

preenPost show I joined Lisa and telegraph stylist Sophie in their official f-week Mercedes(!!!!) and off we rushed to the Smythson presentation. I fell in love with the orange A4 notebooks finished with gold page edges, one for the lust list. British film-maker and Illustrator Quentin Jones created organic, un-pretentious collages depicting famous faces and their Panama notebooks.

And then, via a Starbucks pit stop, it was on to the Emilia Wickstead show. Whilst the aesthetic remained true to previous seasons, I really enjoyed the loose fitting high-low hems with fitted sleeves, a great combo and the bluesy music was pretty catchy too.

emilia wickstead

The highlight of the day for me came at the Mulberry show. Mini scones and sarnies were served as the crowd flooded into the Claridges show space, walking on a field of faux turf edged with little daisies. As a dog lover I was equally enamoured by the number of pups sporting their Mulberry finest as I was with Alexa Chung who graced the front row along with Juno Temple and Douglas Booth, Ultra-editor Anna Wintour and Hilary Alexander. The show opened with Cara Delevingne. and showed a patriotic collection with textural, sequin embellishments and sumptuous jacquard fabrics. We also saw complimenting dog jumpers on some very well-behaved dogs.  My lovely friend Chloe was working backstage and sent me the following snaps of this model-pooch.

backstage bulldog

Ps. Mulberry was definitely the winner of best soundtrack! with heavy beats mixed with old-school nursery rhymes. Rule Britannia.

What an incredible day, Thank you lovely Lisa and the telegraph girls for showing me the LFW ropes.xxxx

Standard

2 thoughts on “Preen, Emilia Wickstead & Mulberry

Leave a comment